Last year, I put poems, artwork and essays on this blog. The response I received, in hits and comments, mainly regarding the essays, has encouraged me to continue in this endeavor. Thank you for your comments, tweets, and support of this site. This year I will also be making short films and putting them on YouTube to generate buzz. That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it, grabbing the ole world by the ear and giving it a shout, “Hey, look at me!”

The first film is already in the can. That’s an anachronism in two ways: first, it isn’t a film; it’s information stored on a mini-dv tape. Second, there is no “can.” The information was uploaded to my computer where I edited it in Windows Movie Maker, free software that came bundled with my computer, and uploaded it to YouTube for all the world to see.

You can view Paris-A Musical of the 1920s, Act Two, Scene 8, by following the link on the right. I am especially interested in promoting this project, in the hope that it will be staged in our life time—that’s me and my two collaborators: Bowden Simmons and Nicholas Cieri. Nick is the eldest and lives in a tiny apartment in Coney Island these days, with an old friend and a housekeeper during the day. I’d have to say Nick is in pretty rough shape. He walks with a walker when he gets up off the couch at all. He sold or gave away his possessions, and lives mostly on memories and a tiny ray of hope that something of his music will make it into the spotlight while he breathes. When I started Paris a quarter-century ago, he drove a white Lincoln Continental and was full of beans. We were all younger and in better shape back then. Many times he invited me to his apartment to sing me a new song and cook me dinner. Nick made his own meatballs. He has been a real friend to me. You can read more about Paris and listen to some songs on this site, under Categories on the right.

“Hey, world, look at us!”

I’d like to thank my two talented actors, Stephanie Robinson and Adam Kee, for maintaining a high level of professionalism, take after take, in the Players Loft in Greenwich Village, where we staged and filmed the scene. There wasn’t sufficient space in the closing credits to list all the contributions David Fletcher made to the film. He graciously allowed us to meet in his downtown Manhattan loft. He prepared a piano tape to play in synch with Adam’s singing, and recorded the scene on his pro Sony video cam. Double and triple thanks to David. I feel lucky to have met all three.

I am off and running.

By Hudson Owen. All Rights Reserved.

